Getting Started with Stream Processing
Register for Webinar

Register for Webinar

Manage your Hazelcast communication preferences here.

Live Webinar

Getting Started with Stream Processing

60 minutes
July 31, 2018 @ 8:00am PDT / 11:00am EDT / 4:00pm BST / 5:00pm CEST

In This Webinar

This webinar will cover core techniques in streaming processing, including DAGs, serialization and wait-free algorithms for efficient cooperative multithreading as well as showing how to get started building a streaming application with Hazelcast Jet.

In this webinar Ben Evans, Java Champion, provides an introduction to stream processing techniques, and in particular, the functionally-oriented approach common to many distributed and streaming techniques – and why functional programming makes sense in this computational context.

Ben’s main case study to explaining these approaches is an experience report of a real application, BetLeopard. This is an example reference implementation of an open-source horse racing engine that is used to demonstrate the basic structure of a distributed and streaming computation.

He will use it to showcase some different ways of approaching a calculation problem, first by using Java 8 lambdas, then by using Parallel Streams for processing and then again with Hazelcast Jet – to show the impact of working with multiple JVMs vs contending parallel workloads within a single JVM.

Finally, Ben will introduce some other examples from the Jet demos repo – including Twitter sentiment analysis and real-time aircraft monitoring, to see some alternative use cases for the Jet technology.

Presenter

Ben Evans, Technologist & Entrepreneur at

Ben Evans is an author, entrepreneur, consultant and educator. His career highlights to date include: co-founding jClarity, a performance startup; Chief Architect for Listed Derivatives at Deutsche Bank; performance testing the Google IPO; creating award-winning websites for some of Hollywood’s biggest hits of the 90s; building multibillion dollar low-latency trading systems; and utilising technology to help some of the UK’s most vulnerable people.

He helps run the London Java Community, and represented the user community on Java’s governing body, the JCP Executive Committee, for 6 years. He is a Java Champion and 3-time JavaOne Rock Star Speaker.

Hazelcast.com

Menu